Skip to content

“The Shack” Is the Place to Be

August 5, 2009

Now I know what you’re thinking.  What is this?  How could that thing, a middle-of-nowhere collection of rotting wood and nails be relevant to absolutely anything?  Well, let me tell you…

that may be a RadioShackThe company is rebranding itself as “The Shack”.  Personally, I like the guy’s picture on that website.  Writing letters on your hand is about as professional as calling yourself “The Shack”.  Does that mean that my particular store on Chestnut St could be referred to generally as simply a shack?  The Technologizer has a list of reasons why this is a bad move.  I’m partial to number 3…this is just a bad name.  No one wants to be associated with a hole-in-the-wall, especially if it’s associated with ‘cutting edge technology’.

For those of you who don’t know, I worked at CompUSA for about a total of 16 months.  I’ve been on that side of the counter.  Granted I was 18 and a Customer Service rep and a cashier, but still.  I lived in a shack in the summer of 2003.  It was in the middle of the woods across from a lake.  Check it out, here. Somehow I don’t think this can be compared to an electronics store, but hey, maybe one day it will be!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 12:20 pm

    Apparently, wikipedia users are already confusing it with this Shack, and as we all know, God and electronics don’t mix.

Leave a Reply

